On Tricks & Treats

I never really understood April Fool’s as a thing. The concept of a day set aside to play pranks and tricks upon friends and unsuspecting strangers seemed at best foolish (assuming the prankster is genuinely good at pranks) and at worst cruel (what usually occurs since most people actually suck at pranks and tricks). For the most part, my friends and I have never really recognized the day or its festivities.since we are the kind of assholes that prefer our pranks with an element of surprise and psychological terror. (I swear we love each other very much)

Perhaps my distaste for the holiday has had some association with my distance from friends and groups that I would want to actually mess with. In truth, April 1st has become more about CampNaNoWriMo for me. It’s my own personal “treat” amid all the tricks. It is a month set aside to work on any personal creative project. While I try to get as much writing done as possible (like this blog and other places), there is something pleasant about committing to a specific project within a set time.

So, if you have any creative projects you’ve been putting off or wanting to start, I suggest you join the NaNoWriMo community and make April bow down to your will and dedication!!!!

2 thoughts on “On Tricks & Treats

  1. I never got April’s Fools either. It’s mostly people pulling pranks either too cliched to be funny or too cruel for their own good. I recall a fairly obnoxious person becoming really obnoxious that day.

    Thankfully, people seem to forget about it a little as time goes by

    • Yeah, since it is not an actual holiday, most people barely acknowledge its existence. It would be somewhat worthwhile if people came up with genuinely humorous, non-cruel, non-damaging “pranks” of sorts.

Leave a Reply

