Lessons From…Fuck It All (by Childish Gambino)

I was on a plane, and in an airport, for a few hours over the weekend and went sort of deep into my iTunes library. Well, deep for me because there is not much to begin with. Anyhow, I have been a fan of Childish Gambino, aka Donald Glover, for a while and was listening to his album Culdesac.  It’s a great album overall, and I highly recommend hearing it at your earliest convenience. In particular, one track, “Fuck It All”, caught my attention. Seriously, check it out:

Of course, I tried to see what knowledge I could gleam from this song. However, this time there really won’t be a need for a SPOILERS warning.

Don't need it but will still put it up.

Don’t need it but will still put it up.

The song speaks for itself for the most part, but there is one core lesson that I think drives the narrative and message of the music. It is found in the very title, Fuck it All. Yeah seems rather simplistic, but the best lessons usually are. We have a limited time on this Earth. We don’t know what the future of anything holds. We will experience horrible heartbreaks and exhilarating joys. In the end, all that matters is how we respond to these circumstances and what we do to make our desires happen.

In the words of Gambino, “I ain’t gonna be around for ever, so fuck it all.” Eat good, drink well, fuck awesomely, and strive to do what you want to do with and in your life. What do you have to lose?

Thus endeth today’s lesson.

One thought on “Lessons From…Fuck It All (by Childish Gambino)

Leave a Reply

