On Drifting/Moving On

I am currently buying an airplane ticket to go see old college friends next month. The following week after visiting these particular group, I will go to an annual gathering of geeks, nerds, and enthusiasts of varying ilk at my Alma Mater. I am looking forward to both excursions; however, it is difficult not to notice the changing nature of the relationships in both groups and locations, specifically my relationship and connection to them.

It is a cliché to say how people grow and change and evolve, but the overuse of the concept is because of its accuracy. I still talk to the friends that I hold dear and made in college, but it is not with the same frequency or involvement. They, just like myself, are dealing with developing lives and events like jobs, promotions, romantic relationships, and the inevitable stresses that go along with being a “productive member of society.”

We no longer have the simple frivolity of our original friendship nor the ability to drop everything at a moment’s notice to have a conversation on the intellectual and spiritual intricacies of Community over beers on someone’s porch. Good times, Honeycutt. Obviously, I know this had to happen. Relationships change. Some grow. Some wither. And some completely die off. It is the nature of things to change.

change is good

Still part of me worries about the future of certain friendships. We are all relatively young and not yet on set career paths and already we have trouble engaging with each other as much as we used to. What is going to happen down the line when we start having legitimate careers, families, and actual responsibilities? Is it selfish of me to be concerned about this? Would it be better for me not to care about future eventualities at all?

I want the best for my friends and hope that they achieve what they want and need. I also kind of hope they have similar worries to the ones I am having. If they are not, does that mean something? I genuinely have no clue what to think on the matter. So, random reader, what do you think? Should you try to hang on to certain relationships? Or just let nature take its course and see what happens?

2 thoughts on “On Drifting/Moving On

  1. I’ve been fortunate enough to keep one or two close friends from each pitstop in my life–high school, college, grad school, and now law school. I’m grateful insofar as we’ve stayed a part of the other’s lives these last three years and I don’t expect that will change in the future. Vaya con Dios, amigo.

    • Same here, but even those relationships have changed to some degree. I just wonder how much change can happen before said connections are no longer recognizable.

Leave a Reply

