Lessons From…Nick Offerman’s American Ham

I love Nick Offerman. I don’t mean that I love his character, Ron Swanson, from Parks and Recreation though Ron is an awesome badass and I am not 100% sure where Nick ends and Ron begins. I mean that I unabashedly love Nick Offerman.

Look at that beautiful, beefy, American bastard.

Look at that beautiful, beefy, American bastard.

I would go hunting, fishing, and any combination of other outdoor activities with him while consuming fine spirits in large quantities. I would learn the ways of woodworking and crafting from his experienced hands and mind. I would learn the fine art of sensual pleasure from this man and learn them well whether through simple observation or practical application and first hand experience is of no concern. Although to be fair, I would prefer one over the other but whatever Nick is comfortable with is fine by me. I mean, have you seen his wife? Obviously, the man knows what he is doing when it comes to the love making.

Normally, I dissect the piece of media in question and mine it for usable wisdom and lessons, but Offerman already did a genius job of this on his own. His comedy special, American Ham, is broken up into a format of 10 life lessons in which some are expanded on and further discussed for the sake of comedy and entertainment. However, each lesson is succinct and frankly rather applicable to everyday life that I feel it would be a grave injustice to the work to alter its form.

I highly recommend watching this special in its entirety, particularly since it is already streaming on Netflix and just a few clicks away on your viewing device of choice. You will not regret this choice as you will laugh and learn. For those of you still on the fence, here is but a morsel of the exquisite meal that awaits you:

So go forth and enjoy Nick Offerman’s musings on life and learn from the great man himself.

Thus endeth today’s lesson.

One thought on “Lessons From…Nick Offerman’s American Ham

  1. Blah blah blah, there’s a crisis of masculinity these days. Some have responded by writing books about how to be masculine, others have adopted the Lumbersexual look, others do crossfit. If anyone has a personal crisis of masculinity, look no further than Mr. Offerman who’s singular tenant is pretty much “just be.”

Leave a Reply

