On Failure

I am still plugging away at NaNoWriMo, but I am behind in my word count. I am hoping that the upcoming weekend and break from work will give me some extra time to play catch up. However, I know that there is a chance I will not win NaNoWriMo this year. Essentially, I might fail in my quest to kill the word dragon and take my novel crown.

The thing is, I am kind of okay with that possibility. Don’t get me wrong. I am going to work my ass off for the remainder of November to try for that glorious victory. I will be writing for most of my last weekends and during Thanksgiving vacation. I am holding off on playing the two beautiful looking games I just bought (Dragon Age Inquisition and Shadows of Mordor). At some point, I will probably pull an all-nighter just like my college days.

The point is that even with doing all this, I still might not finish what I set out to do and that is okay. At this point, I have written more words for a single project than I have in a very long time. I also have a complete story in notes, so that i can and will eventually finish this story in progress, though perhaps not in November. Basically, I might fail NaNoWriMo, but I still managed a few smaller victories in the process. Not to mention the entire experience has been genuinely fun up to now and I doubt that will change anytime soon.

Just like with anything else in life; the point of failing is learning what you need from the situation, getting up, dusting yourself off, and moving on. So, I will gladly fail this round because I will still come away with something to show for my efforts. Hopefully, if I do happen to stumble, I’ll be able to turn the momentary lapse into something I am proud of.

Wish me luck that I will not fail at this, but know that doing so is not the worst thing that could happen.

Leave a Reply

