On Community II

So I have actually written a post on the idea of community before, but I wanted to use a more specific example to illustrate its necessity and power. Unsurprisingly, this example also relates to and uses the NaNoWriMo community.

Currently on Day 5 of NaNoWriMo and somehow managing to keep up on word count. Let’s see how long that lasts. Coffee seems to help.

It really is.

It really is.

Anyhow, I was writing on Day 2 (Sunday) of NaNoWriMo and I hit a slump. As I usually do when this happens, I decided to listen to some music, but didn’t know what to go with. Since I knew that there were several other NaNo participants working on the forums and keeping in touch through Twitter, I sent out a massive signal requesting “writing music” suggestions.

I expected a couple of responses within a day, instead I was inundated with suggestions for the next 48 hours. Seriously, complete, random strangers were telling me their preferred music for writing, why they liked it, where to go and find some good tunes all because I added a hashtag to a tweet.

Not saying that now these people and I are friends or that we will ever be more than strangers, but for a brief moment we were connected and aid and advice was altruistically given without conceit. It still might be corny, but there is something oddly beautiful about the existence of these moments and the communities that are built around them.

Also, it’s not too late to try your hand at NaNoWriMo. If you ever felt like writing a book, sign up and start. There are a bunch of us along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

