Ode to Romantic Comedies

I want my life to be a rom-com!

I want to walk in to my friend’s party

And see the love of my life

Across the room in a so

Vintage dress that even the

Hipsterest of hipsters looks upon it

With an organic, home-grown envy

I want to fall

Deeply into the

Simplest of loves

With the ease of a

Conversation on a

Common interest she

Kind of lies about having

Just so that we can

Have similar interests

As long as they are mine

I want to have a

Huge fight over a

Long brimming issue

Underlying our entire

Relationship

That was never addressed because

It would have been too

Real too soon and

Mature emotional development

Is far too hard and takes

Work neither of us really

Wanted to do

I want my life to be a rom-com

Because there is always an ending in

Which even the sidekick finds his one

And I just want to stop

Waiting to find my love

But I don’t want the easy

Romance that is found in

Films that shows a simple

Slice of the whole scene

I want to have the all out

Fights in the middle of the

Night over whose turn it

Was to take out the trash

And buy dog food on

The way home

I want a messy love life

That does not have the

Ease of movement with the

Ebb and flow of the tides

With disagreements over

Movies, tv shows, books, politics

And the occasional argument

Over who the best Batman was

(Kevin Conroy in Batman: The Animated Series)

I want to experience every

Little moment, every fight,

Every kiss, every tear and every

Moment I can manage to grasp

Away from time whether perfect,’

Forgetful, simple, or momentous

I want it all but mostly

I want to be with you and

I wish I could just find you

Sooner rather than later

3 thoughts on “Ode to Romantic Comedies

  1. amandadancer15 says:

    Reblogged this on amandadancer15 and commented:
    I want my life to be a movie because it’d be much easier to watch my life be lived than to go through living it. And I’d want it to be a rom-com so that I’d get to see myself be happy. And let’s face it- reality is much too conventional for the happiness in movies of those sorts.

    • I think I have managed to crack your code, sir. Yes, I would very much appreciate such a companion. Though to be honest, I am pretty sure a manic pixie dream girl would drive me to murder.

Leave a Reply

