Lessons From…Justified

I have been recently watching the television show Justified. It is a great program that is available for streaming through Netflix and Amazon Prime Instant Video. I have always been a sucker for Westerns, both traditional and modern. Add an old school grit and motto with a quick draw and I will waste several hours in front of a screen. Does not hurt that the acting is exquisitely done and the actors are not too bad to look at.

justified cast

While there are several seasons worth of episodes, there is one in particular that struck out to me. More specifically, a series of lines spoken by Winona Hawkins (Natalie Zea) in Season 3 Episode 6 “When the Guns Come Out.” There is a bit too much back story to fully go over, but the general idea is that Winona is pretty sick and tired of Raylan’s (Timothy Olyphant), her ex-husband and current baby daddy, shit and has moved on. Raylan, unsure of why she left, finds her and confronts her as to her reasons for her vanishing act. Her response is:

“Raylan, you remember that Monday night poker game you used to go to. You loved that game and come hell or high water you’d be at that game. I remember you chased a fugitive for 48 hours straight over the weekend with no sleep just to make that Monday night poker game. The point is, Raylan, if you really wanted to change something for me, you’d have done it already.”

The concepts of evolution and change have begun to interest me far more in my ongoing aging than they did in my youth. I suppose it is part of the whole growing up and figuring out who you are/supposed to be and all that jazz. I am just hoping it is not some existential, life-crisis bullshit, but it still has been on my mind. Hell, even the humorous articles I read on Cracked revolve around said subject. 

Frankly, the quote from Justified states how to best change and is the subject of today’s lesson. If you want to do something/anything, you will. This is not to suggest that accomplishing a goal will be easy. Truth be told, it will most likely be difficult, annoying, arduous, and take a Herculean amount of effort. However, if it is something you truly wish to make happen, you will. It is a hard fact that most will not take to heart, but does not make it any less true. It is a lesson that I have yet to fully integrate into my life, but one that I try to incorporate more and more with each passing day. Hopefully, one day it will no longer be a lesson, but simply a life motto that I live.

Thus endeth today’s lesson.

Leave a Reply

