On Relationships

“Relationships are just you being there for someone when they need you. That is all relationships are.” 

I heard this quote in a movie I recently watched. Can’t quite recall which film, but this particular line stood out to me. It’s of significant interest because it essentially relates the definition of all relationships, not just romantic couplings.

I find relationships, particularly friendships, fascinating. I am sure there is some evolutionary reason for our desire to seek communities, but the reasons as to why we gravitate toward certain people or why they choose to return friendship are as varied as the people on the planet.  

These connections may be lost over time and others can take their place over the years. In my own life, there are a few relationships that I am trying to keep. I am not sure if such a thing will be possible, but I know I want to try. Perhaps that is a bit selfish of me, but I believe that my friends elevate me on some level, and I hope I do the same for them.

Not really much of a point to this post other than a random musing on the nature of relationships. I pray that I am there for those who need me and a welcome friend to any who desire it. What are your thoughts on relationships? Do you agree with the initial quote?

2 thoughts on “On Relationships

  1. I don’t agree with the quote. It seems a very limiting way to describe any and all relationships. Relationships take a variety of forms (parent-child; spouse-spouse; fraternal; co-workers, etc.). Even stopping at friendships, I believe that friendships aren’t exclusively about being there when someone needs you. Otherwise the person with the pickup truck would be everyone’s best friend. Rather, I think the core of friendships, or those that I value, is a mutual love and respect for the other. Eh?

    • While I am familiar with being the “friend with the truck,” I think the quote and your definition are not mutually exclusive. In all the types of relationships you mentioned, one of the core and common aspects is being present and there for the other.

      As a parent, I am there to care for, raise, and teach my child appropriate life lessons and skills. I am present and supportive of my significant other emotionally, physically, spiritually, etc. I think “being there” is meant to be more than just physically being present.

Leave a Reply

