On Community

It’s that time of year again! No, not the Steam summer sale (though that is always fun) or the bullshit sales marketing period of “Christmas in July.” Seriously, I feel sorry for any of those poor men who have to wear that disturbing red suit in the Texas heat, but if I have to hear one more bastardized version of a Christmas Carol trying to sell me something, I will go ‘Wayne Brady’ and choke some one.

No, the time has come for Camp NaNoWriMo! This is my second year doing Camp NaNoWriMo and, hopefully, this year will see my first victory. Yeah, last year I was not so successful at completing my projects. Whoops. However, there is something oddly magical and inspiring about participating. I, honestly, believe that the sense of community around this project adds immensely to the experience.

There are thousands of people across the country working on creative endeavors of all kinds at the same time. They have different backgrounds and goals, but they are all  trying to progress toward a common end: finishing a piece of art. I find a sense of purpose and beauty in the sheer insanity of so many people participating in such a crazy venture.

I know many will not be able to finish (hell, I might not) or will not be able to do anything with their work after July, but at least they tried and that is going farther than so many others. So, to me this month is special because of the weird, online community gathering around virtual campfires and cabins to tell the stories in their heads, if even only for a month out of the year.

Wherever you are, whatever you are doing, remember that no one does it alone and that a community, no matter how small, is important for both the good and bad times in life.

(Don’t worry. The blog will return to the standard sarcasm and quips. Just had to get this one slightly sentimental one out of the way)

One thought on “On Community

Leave a Reply

