Lessons From…How I Met Your Mother

I know, I know, I just wrote a piece on this show last week, but it really is one of my favorite shows. As well, I warned you last time that it would come up again at some point and this will probably not be the last time I discuss this program in this context. Furthermore, the long awaited series finale is airing so it is only apropos that I write through my emotions. (I really am going to miss this show)

Which brings us to this week’s lesson: all things come to an end. I have been watching How I Met Your Mother since its premier episode in 2005. It was an enjoyable escape into a fictional world that made me care about the characters and narrative presented. Even when it devolved into the absurd at times, the show managed to keep me engaged and interested. Unfortunately, the series finale will be airing tonight, and it will, essentially, be like losing a close friend.

Still, this is a necessary lesson to keep in mind. All things come to an end. Friendships will dissipate. Romances will turn sour. Loved ones will, someday, leave us behind. These situations may have a reason or simply be a matter of circumstance, but they are all a part of life and, for the most part, out of our control. Happiness, like most things, has a cycle and thus it will begin and end and at some point begin again, usually in another form.

On the upside, this means that bad things also end. The pain of a break up, the sadness of a loss, the sunken feeling of disappointment; these too will also end. Someday something will happen that shows the light at the end of the tunnel, even if it is just the passage of time.

So, this week’s lesson from How I Met Your Mother is all things, both good and bad, will end. Learn what you can from it. Acknowledge your emotions/feelings toward this conclusion. Eventually, move on and be ready for what comes next because remember that every ending is really just a beginning in disguise.

Keeping with the theme, here is a list of other possible lessons. I agree with the last one mostly.

 

Image

One thought on “Lessons From…How I Met Your Mother

Leave a Reply

