A Day With Words

8_bookstore

My father, brother, and I have a tradition where we pile into a car and go to a bookstore to spend a Saturday drinking coffee and reading books. Unfortunately, the nearest bookstore is a Barnes and Noble and it is about an hour’s drive from where we live. Still, it is something we have been doing together for years now and we enjoy it.

Today started off much like our usual trips; we arrived a few minutes after B&N opened and immediately went to our favorite sections. After finding a few select choices, we then searched for the most possible comfy seats available and immediately began devouring the books we had picked out. This time, though, I managed to do something that I have not done for quite some time. I read an entire book in one sitting. I don’t know if it was because the book was not particularly long or just that good, but it felt extremely enjoyable reading in such a way. I did not have any intention of reading an entire book as usually I will skim a few interesting books and read a couple of graphic novels, yet I recall consuming tomes like that when I was younger.

I don’t know if it was a random occurrence, a resurgence of a lost desire or hunger, or possibly nothing at all, but I feel as though other changes have been happening this year (as short as it may be thus far). Maybe I am imagining things, even so, I think I will ride it out to my advantage and try to make something out of it. Don’t quite know what, yet, but the year is still young.

Also, the book I read was the first of the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I highly recommend it and look forward to reading the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

