New Year

One of my closest friends and I have an ongoing tradition; every year, for the past six years, we meet up for a cup of coffee, play a game against one another (he beat me this year and I am still a little annoyed at that), chat, and ultimately tell each other a few goals and resolutions for the upcoming year. Usually we both fail at keeping most, if not all, our resolutions, but somehow I manage to actually complete 4 out of the 5 goals I set for myself (Not a humblebrag, I swear). Not really sure how that happened, but I was pleasantly surprised and kind of put a small spring in my step as I moved into the new year. I also have a bit more drive and hope that I will be able to accomplish the goals I have set for myself in the coming year.

This is usually the time where people take stock of their lives and set new goals to accomplish. It is understandable. After all, it is the beginning of something new and fresh, no matter how arbitrary it actually is. Within the last few days, I have read, listened to, and seen various media that deal with goals, life transitions, and achieving one’s goals. While they diverged in their overall commentary, the similarities between them amounted to, essentially: Whatever your goal/resolution/intention is, just start working toward it. There will always be reasons and obstacles in your way, but you just have to start somewhere and keep going.

For some reason, there seems to be a belief currently that success, whatever that means, must come by a certain age. If you have not fulfilled your dreams or aspirations during your youth, then you are past your prime. I suppose part of me had started to believe this to be true and had begun to affect my perspective. However, after I digesting the aforementioned media, I realized that this belief is essentially bullshit. There is no final endpoint or measure. You simply start and keep going. That was my takeaway from everything that has happened this past year, that everything just keeps going. It is never too late to start whatever project you wish to complete, but you have to start and more importantly you have to realize that there is no grand prize or finish line, just the continuance of the path.

The best advice I have read on new beginnings/resolutions actually came today. Basically, instead of making a bunch of checkpoints or goals, just always try to be a better person and citizen. A lofty mission, but one worth try to achieve. I think that is enough for me for now. I will try to be a better individual, a better me. I hope that this time next year I can look back and say with certainty that I at the very least managed to improve to some degree.

I don’t know what the new year will bring, but I will try my damnedest to do and be better and work toward what I have set for myself. I don’t know what plans or goals you have set for yourself, but I wish you the best of luck in achieving them this year and every year afterwards. May we all make ourselves and our communities a bit better than how they started. See you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

