What if They had been just Blue?

So along with a fellow blogger, I entered a flash fiction story for the weekly Terrible Mind‘s flash fiction contest. The contest was to write a story based on a randomly generated prompt that can be found here. My prompt was: “The story starts when your protagonist is told by a parent that everything has been a lie. Another character is a mind reader who is interfering with your protagonist’s job.” Below you will find what I managed to come up with. My compatriot’s entry can be found here. Enjoy.

 

The old adage goes “Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never harm me.” I used to agree with that stupid saying until a few hours ago. Words, not sticks nor stones nor blades nor guns, had turned my world around. Worse still those life shattering words were delivered by the man I had called father for so many years.

His voice still rung in my ears, “It’s all been a lie, but you will still serve a purpose.” What that mandated mission was, he never got to say. I ran as fast as the wind would carry me. I could have gone anywhere my legs could go, so why did I end up at my high school? Old habits die hard, I suppose. The ritual of going from class to class barely paying attention to a worn down slightly high or drunk “teacher” always seemed pointless. Today that feeling was merely confirmed. People passed in flashes around me as I ambled through the halls. I was invisible to the world. Maybe I always had been. It made sense all things considered. I just wanted to go back to before when I was an ignorant and happy fool.

I didn’t notice her at all. Hell, I barely registered her when she slammed straight into me. I definitely felt the ground as my back banged against it and her weight and warmth on my chest and stomach were not as erotic or soothing as one would think.

“I am so sorry. I didn’t see you,” she clamored as she tried to untangle herself from my body.

“No problem. As long as I can get up, so you know, get off,” I responded.

She managed to rise up. “Yeah, no need to be rude about it.” She offered her hand but I declined. My day had not lent itself to any kindness and I was in no mood to take or show any. “Fine.”

“You know being a jerk is a real turnoff.”

“Didn’t realize I was trying to flirt. With that failure I guess I’ll be off.”

She grabbed my arm before I could leave. “Wait.” I could have ran. Sure, she was fast, and pretty strong, whoever she was, but I still could have escaped. The weight of that single word and how she said it cemented my feet where they were.

“You seem troubled, like something is on your mind.” My face must have been easier to read than I thought even at a glance. I turned to face her. She wasn’t going to leave me in peace. No reason to make it easy for her.

“Good guess. Now can you let go of my arm?”

She responded as she released her grip. “A bit more than a guess and sorry.”

“You always this cryptic?”

“You always this evasive?”

“Heh, it’s been a shitty day.”

“I see. Doesn’t mean it has to have a bad ending.”

“Par for the course. Besides, how would you know what the day hol…” I hadn’t really looked at her till this moment. She could easily get lost in a crowd especially at this school, but up close with that sun kissed skin peppered with freckles like a star filled night sky she was unmistakable. As remarkable as her face was, it was her eyes that really caught me off guard.

“What’s wrong with your eyes?” I asked.

“What are you talking about?”

“They’re, like, a weird color or something.”

She seemed perplexed. “No, they’re a perfectly normal shade of blue.”

“Nah, they’re like a lightish grey.”

Her breath stopped and her eyes widened before she bolted. I was fast for my age but there was no way I would’ve caught up to her. I had no clue what had brought about this reaction and all I could do was shout an apology. “SORRY!?” I went back to my usual day pondering the chance meeting with the girl with the funny eyes.

It wasn’t till school was almost out that I found grey eyes again or maybe she found me for all I know. Her slight stride was distinctive on the cement in the courtyard. She walked straight up to me without hesitation.

“Do you really see my eyes as grey?”

“Yeah.”

“You shouldn’t.”

“What do you mean?”

“Not important. Why are you here? What is your purpose?”

“Purpose? My dad said that earlier. What the hell does that…?”

The sky turned dark as thunder boomed above us. I was not frightened though I knew I should be.

“What is going on?!” She asked. Her eyes once again widened in shock. “Where did you get that blade?”

I don’t know where the knife came from or why I plunged it into my chest. Only that it felt like the first right thing all day.

I could feel my blood pooling around me. The cold was numbing and comforting. I looked forward to the certainty the dark would provide. A whimper and tears kept me from falling fully in. Their warmth seared my cheek and would not let me slumber.

“Please…you have to tell me what is going on. Can it…can it be stopped.” I could barely make out her pained pleas. Even in the midst of anguish and fear I could not help but notice her delicate features and those damn odd eyes. “Don’t go, dammit! You can’t go…not yet.”

I couldn’t help but smile. I would’ve laughed but at this point breathing was becoming a burden. Yeah, I was going to be a bit of an asshole up till the end. Might as well go out the way you came, right?

I struggled to get my words out. “Nothing left. What’s done is…done. Try not to *cough* cry, odd eyes. Just let it come.” 

She closed her eyes and finally let herself scream. She would be the only thing I might miss. I think I was finally happy dying in her arms as I saw hell descend behind her.

 

The Sentry Gathers

One thought on “What if They had been just Blue?

Leave a Reply

