New Years

 

Image

 

Today is New Year’s Eve which means that in less than 24 hours 2012 will be gone and 2013 will begin. It also means that at this moment millions of people are planning how to ring in the new year and are declaring resolutions to improve themselves, their lives, or their circumstances for the new year. Resolutions are a tricky thing. Change is inevitable and most of the time it can be a positive thing, but it is hard. Very hard.

Like others, I have been guilty of failing on my New Year’s resolutions and letting my good intentions fall by the wayside. Yet, every year I meet up with a friend and we trade off our resolutions and state, without a hint of irony, that this year will be different. Something about a new time gives us hope that maybe things can be different. Whatever experiences occurred in 2012, 2013 offers the possibility of something more, something better, we hope.

I don’t know what the new year will bring. Some of it will be good. Some of it will be bad. I know there will be change because there has to be and I know for the first time in a while I am genuinely looking forward to it. I am nervous and anxious about what’s over the horizon, but I can’t wait to see what it brings. I have only one real resolution: Be better. Be a better person. Do better in all aspects of life. Think better of others and myself. In short, Be Better. The rest will fall into place as it is meant to.

Hope everyone has a great time tonight and is doing exactly what they want to to welcome the coming year. See you on the other side. 

 

Leave a Reply

